Rachel Heath

Intentional Living: learning to be fully present

On My Most Urgent Prayer

Parenting is my crucible. How immensely rewarding and reworking and relentless it is. How huge is the responsibility of tending two tiny humans, day in and day out, again and again, without stopping, like the waves upon the shore.

I stand in The Here and Now, keenly aware of how my words and actions will ripple through days, months, years, decades, as these small people grow into big ones, complex and independent, with relationships and big plans and influence of their own.

Image

And I tremble at the massive weight of this. I live in fear that my lack of constancy should teach them more than my rare glimmering moments of self-control. After all, children remember what we said less that how we said it, how we lived it.

Oh, I tremble.

So when the baby is screaming, the toddler whining, the pressure building, when I feel trapped by the tedium of it all, this is my prayer:

Thank you, thank you, thank you for trusting my slipshod self with this beloved girl and beautiful boy, and help me, help me, help me do this right.

Though I feel laden, they are no burden; caring for these little hearts is a privilege.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Help me, help me, help me.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “On My Most Urgent Prayer

  1. This is exactly how I feel. I am blessed. I am scared. I do treasure ounce of their souls and much as I want to cry with them in frustration or feel insecure because I haven’t followed my own parenting advice. Beautifully written, you’ve spoken to my mothering soul. Thank You, Rachel. Bless you and your little hearts.

Leave a Reply

