Rachel Heath

Intentional Living: learning to be fully present

On February: We’re Going Dark

simplicity bannerFebruary: No Social Media. Seriously. None.

When I first polled friends and family about what distracts them from important things or wastes significant amounts of their time, at least 75% of people cited social media. When I hear stats about how many of us check facebook first thing in the morning, I don’t feel as “What is this country coming to??” and “Kids these days!” as some people do about it. In fact, I’m inclined to think that we’re created for relationship, and in a world where there is increasing distance between family and friends, where our lives are increasingly busy, social media provides a valuable and unique way to connect with one another.

But when you’re checking facebook 20+ times per day (yes, brutal honesty, that’s me), I think the drawbacks begin to outweigh the benefits. That’s why we decided to include this in our experiment and include it early. I have a suspicion that I will end up feeling somewhat isolated, but I also suspect that the loss of social media will push this introvert into more antiquated forms of communication like, say, texting or email. God forbid I make a phone call. Or – gasp – actually get together with people. Needless to say, Stephen The Extrovert will be totally thrilled and I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s more productive at work this month.

I’m still not sure where I’m going to find the self-control for this. I might actually delete the apps from my phone and reinstall them at the end of the month. I can’t decide if that’s sad or funny. Probably both.

While I will continue to blog during February, I won’t be tweeting, pinning, sharing pictures, or updating my status. My blog automatically shares new posts on facebook and twitter, so if you reach this post (or any other this month) from one of those sites, please know that I would love to respond to comments here on my blog… just not on social media.

That’s it… we’re going dark. See you in March! Or, maybe I’ll just see you in person. Imagine that!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “On February: We’re Going Dark

  1. Julia B. on said:

    Take heart & have a wonderful month! I might even follow your footsteps for Lent.

  2. Good for you! I hope to follow your lead one day soon!

Leave a Reply

